Running a Good Race

March 18, 2011

Ask any of our staff, I am certain they would say they are blessed to be working with Global Media Outreach.  Yet, some days that blessing stops you dead in your tracks and leaves you praising God for weeks after. One of those moments hit me a few weeks ago, in the form of an email requesting prayer for one of our online missionaries.  With the OMs permission, I want to share the email with you:

Dear Dan,

For me, living is Christ and dying is gain. Now if I live on in the flesh, this means fruitful work for me; and I don’t know which one I should choose. I am pressured by both. I have the desire to depart and be with Christ—which is far better — but to remain in the flesh is more necessary for you.  Since I am persuaded of this, I know that I will remain and continue with all of you for your advancement and joy in the faith,  so that, because of me, your confidence may grow in Christ Jesus (Philippians 1:21-26)(HCSB)

According to my cardiologist and all of my other doctors, there is nothing more medical science can do for me. It is only a matter of time before my graduation into the arms of my Lord. I don’t know if He will allow me to linger until the snatching away of the church, which is even at the door. If he does, my body will be changed from corruptible into incorruptible, without ever tasting of physical death.

No matter what happens, or when, until I am unable to do so any longer, I want to remain an active GMO OM. God wants us to occupy until He comes. To me, it doesn’t matter if He’s coming to take me a little earlier than the rest of the church, or with the church, I need to keep running the race until it’s over, one way or the other.

Sincerely,

C.

 

I don’t know about you, but hearing those verses from someone closer to facing “graduation into Jesus’s arms” than most people, suddenly makes those verses spring into a new light. I felt honored to be in ministry with OM. I feel encouraged to keep pressing on to complete the good work I am called to in Christ Jesus. I hope you are encouraged as well to press on and finish what God calls you to do in every stage of your life!

ps. Please keep C. in your prayers. 🙂

 


3 Responses to “Running a Good Race”

  1. Deepani gilroy Says:

    Thank you ever so much for sharing

  2. phyllis Says:

    Thank you for posting this! It is thrilling and encouraging. I’m excited to be a new OM. Dear God Who holds our lives in His hands, please allow C. many more days, weeks, months and years to connect with the ripe harvest waiting to hear the good news of the gospel of Jesus Christ! Gratefully, pw

  3. Susan Says:

    Great perspective. It’s exciting to be a missionary through GMO, no passport, no expense but the rewards are unbelievable!!!


Leave a Reply

