Giving Thanks 2010

November 24, 2010

This year in the United States, November 25th will be Thanksgiving- a day set aside to give thanks.  Last year, our staff at Global Media Outreach posted a list of the things for which we were thankful.  Because it was fun and encouraging to see how God had been moving all year, this year we decided to do the same. So, in no particular order, here are the things we are thankful for in this last year:

  • The wonderful Gift of Jesus Christ!! (okay, I said no order, but this by FAR #1)
  • Entrepreneurial ministry and gracious coworkers
  • We can use the internet to reach close countries with the gospel
  • God’s redeeming love and grace for all people being communicated in many creative ways.
  • A raising culture of prayer at GMO
  • The opportunity to partner with God in reaching people
  • Every new seeker who finds our sites and is given a chance to know Jesus
  • Every one of our (over) 5,300 OMs who gives their time to fill Heaven with new disciples
  • The vision that has been given to our leaders
  • God’s faithfulness in answering our prayers for more funding and IT help
  • Caffeine- in the forms of tea, coffee, and energy drinks
  • A beautiful new office space for one of our offices
  • God’s perfect timing
  • Our wonderful Summer Project Interns
  • iPhones
  • Conference Call lines
  • Failed projects- now we know what doesn’t work.
  • God bringing in new staff members into full time ministry.
  • Food, Clothing, shelter, and the love of family, friends and God.
  • Health and happiness
  • Seeing how God continues to bless our ministry.  Over and over again, I have seen huge challenges that seem impossible for any one person to overcome.  But I am blessed to know that we serve a God who is much bigger than our challenges.  Time and time again, I have seen prayers answered and results that are much bigger than anything I could have imagined.
  • Hang around with such a fun group of geeky people :-)!
  • The privilege of being part of such a great movement of God!
  • Tthat God does the work!
  • I can reach out to the world from my home while I can hear my elderly mother (95 with Alzheimer’s) breathing peacefully in bed or sitting next to me watching TV.  After 24 + years overseas with CCC, I came back to my small town in Kentucky to take care of my mom.  I thought my world would be small but God surprised me.  🙂

How about you? What are You thankful for today?

“Give thanks to the LORD, for he is good; his love endures forever. Let the redeemed of the LORD tell their story…” Psalm 107:1-2a

2 Responses to “Giving Thanks 2010”

  1. Miheret Says:

    I am thankful I’m part of GMO and the Africa GMO ministry is growing. We have now three functional communication centers for online missionary in Cameroon, Ghana, and Ethiopia.


  2. […] honor of the Thanksgiving holiday in the United States, our post two days ago listed many reasons why our staff at GMO is thankful. For those of you who are familiar with the […]


Leave a Reply

